Climbing up to Agios Antonios
On a mid December afternoon, after a tour around the island we decided to climb up to the monastery of Agios Antonios at the top of Kefalos hill. Our starting point was the village of Marpissa. On such a clear day, the view towards the beach of Molos & Kalogeros (the natural spa beach with the grey clay) was stunning!
Walking up the spiral path around the fairly steep hill, we passed the ruins of the Venetian castle and enjoyed views of Marpissa, as well as the surrounding fields.
The monastery of Agios Antonios, one of the first ones in Paros, was built in the 16th century. The once priory monastery ceased functioning in 1834 and today it is not inhabited by monks. The church of Agios Antonios has two domes and is an impressive example of traditional ecclesiastical architecture.
Even though the monastery yard is accessible throughout the year, from mid spring onwards the monastery itself and the church are open during certain hours and visitors can have a guided tour.